Events
Events

WEBINAR: Cenfri on Remittance Trends in sub-Saharan Africa

Date:
November 27, 2019
Time:
2:00 PM - 3:00 PM (Africa/Johannesburg) - Add Time Zone
Cancel
Location:
GoToMeeting
Contact:
Andrew Dean
andrew.dean@atmia.com

Register to Attend

Remittances in sub-Saharan Africa – trends and opportunities

2 p.m. (SAST) South Africa, Wednesday, 27th of November, 2019
(12 p.m. in London, 4 p.m in Dubai, 8 p.m. in Hong Kong,
7 a.m in New York and 11 p.m. in Sydney)

Sub-Saharan Africa (SSA) receives more money in formal remittances than in foreign direct investment and official development aid – it is one of the most powerful capital flows into the region. Yet, sending and receiving cross-border remittances of 200 USD in SSA costs over 9% of the remittance, compared to a global average of around 6%.

This webinar is aimed at discussing the reasons behind the tremendous cost, especially in the era of technology and fintechs: what are the main cost drivers and where are the opportunities for providers to lower the cost without impacting on their business case?

Drawing on in-depth research from Nigeria, Zambia, Uganda, Ethiopia and Côte d’Ivoire we show how the balanced combination of payment systems infrastructure, competition and regulation can be a powerful driver of formal remittances, and cross-border payments more broadly, in the region.

To register for the webinar please go to:

https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/7707223970196019469

Moderator: Andrew Dean, Africa and Middle East Executive Director, ATMIA

Speaker: Antonia Esser, Senior Associate, Cenfri


Global Sponsor - KAL
Global Sponsor - Auriga
Global Sponsor - TMD Security
Global Sponsor - Cardtronics
Global Sponsor - DPL
Global Sponsor - Euronet Worldwide
Global Sponsor - NCR
Global Sponsor - Diebold Nixdorf
Global Sponsor - Payment Alliance International, Inc.
Global Sponsor - FIS
Global Sponsor - Mastercard
Global Sponsor - Prosegur
Become a Global Sponsor
Join the Campaign

Meet Our
Global Sponsors