Bans On Cashless Retail Establishments – February 2023 Update

Grass roots activity in the effort to require that consumers have the right to pay with cash continues to be very strong. The new year has brought along with it new bills to ban cashless retail establishments in seven states – Arizona, Missouri, New York, Ohio, Oklahoma, and both North and South Carolina. New York City implemented such a ban in 2020. Two bills each were introduced in the NY Senate and Assembly.

Massachusetts and Connecticut, as well, already have requirements in place to accept cash. However, both introduced bills to tweak existing law.

The ATMIA USA Cashless Ban’d Wagon map is completely updated and can be found on the ATMIA USA region home page.