Bans On Cashless Retail Establishments – March 2023 Update - March 10, 2023

Bans On Cashless Retail Establishments – March 2023 Update

Friday, March 10, 2023

View Showroom

by David Tente

Grass roots activity in the effort to require that consumers have the right to pay with cash continues to be very strong. The new year has brought along with it many prospective new bills to ban cashless retail establishments. The total is now up to 11 states – Arizona, Illinois, Kentucky, Maine, Missouri, New York, both North and South Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, and Tennessee. New York City implemented such a ban in 2020. Two bills each were introduced in the NY Senate and Assembly.

Massachusetts and Connecticut, as well, already have requirements in place to accept cash. However, both introduced bills to tweak existing law.

The ATMIA USA Cashless Ban’d Wagon map is completely updated and can be found on the ATMIA USA region home page.

Additional Resources from ATM Industry Association

ATM Industry Association White Papers
ATM Industry Association Press Releases / Blog Posts

Global Sponsor - Diebold Nixdorf
Global Sponsor - PAI
Global Sponsor - Euronet Worldwide
Global Sponsor - Auriga
Global Sponsor - FIS
Global Sponsor - Prosegur
Global Sponsor - DPL
Global Sponsor - KAL
Become a Global Sponsor
In This Section
Coronavirus Member Blogs
Special Offer Image ATM Security Association Image

Global Sponsors